Skip to content

New Summer Theme: Fireworks

June 29, 2009

FireworksChibi

Well it’s time for another theme change! As you can see, there’s a new banner and the theme has changed colors. Oh I love the ability to customize colors~ Anyways, the new theme is a fireworks theme. I decided to make a new post anyways. I felt like I’d ruin the post if I tried fitting the new change in there since I was unprepared and created no room for me to make it nice and easy to add.

I’ll miss the KnIY summer theme, but it’s okay. ^_^

I have mentioned before in my Blossom Blabber post that I decided to squeeze in another theme(a.k.a. this theme) between the original next one and the Koko ni Iru Yo! one. Well, I’ve figured out my schedule now. I don’t think I’ll get another unexpected change, since it would make things much harder and one theme wouldn’t be able to stay long enough. But I will say that this theme won’t stay as long as others because of reasons mentioned later.

Banner: Sumomo

Sumomo

Banner comes before theme explaining because it was the inspiration for the theme.  Anyways, the new banner includes Sumomo, who is the absolutely adorable and cute heroine for Nanatsuiro Drops, an anime I watched last year. If I could I would’ve nominated her for SoMT. Anyways, it was more of a coincidence for the banner. Actually, everything sort of came together from making the banner.

I was just searching through photobucket looking for images of an anime girl with fireworks or something. Or I was looking for just an animage of a cute girl or something, I don’t think I was even looking for fireworks, because I don’t exactly remember it (only that I was surprised to find it). But I was looking around and I happened to find an image of Sumomo with fireworks, which just screamed perfect for a banner. I just had to use it. I’m glad though, because I wanted to use a character from an anime that I haven’t talked about often or paid attention to in awhile. Something out of my usual.

The image was way too perfect, so I barely made any changes. That’s probably why this was probably the easiest banner to make (to a certain extent). The banner is actually a pretty simple, basic banner. The only thing I did to the image (besides crop it), was change the edge so it was curved, rather than the usual corners. And…you can’t really consider that changing the image. But the original image was here. I guess credit goes to an apparently closed site. But even though I didn’t do much, I am upset though that it looks like her hand isn’t attached to her body, since the rest of her body is barely visible.

The next part was adding the text. The surprisingly hard part. Even though it doesn’t look like it, it took me awhile to get to what you see now. I had tried several different texts, which took up so much time trying to make, like the outline with a semi-transparent gradients, which had several different versions. Pretty much, I tried this, didn’t like it, tried that, didn’t like it, and tried too many complex things before I just tried a basic simple style. Which I was satisfied with. Which made me upset that I tried complex before going to the obvious simple. I guess it was because it was hard finding something that would compliment the rest of it. Once I had text that blended in too much, and another that stood out too much (even though standing out text is fine…to a certain extent) to the point where it didn’t fit. But now I’m pretty happy with the text I used.

And the tagline…well it’s simple really. Setting off the fireworks. Setting off fireworks for various reasons…about to be mentioned.

Theme: Fireworks!

Well, this theme was added originally to celebrate the coming of the 4th of July. And that means fireworks, which is my favorite part of the 4th of July. But then it also relates to summer in other reasons as well (because I’m sure anyone who doesn’t live in the US probably doesn’t care as much about the 4th of July). Even though it’s not at the same time, the summer festival also includes the fireworks show, so that’s another thing that this relates to. Also, I wanted to use fireworks because it’s going to be staying for anime premieres. So it’s going to be like, “Whoo~ Summer anime premiered, fireworks to celebrate!~” even though that’s…a little over exaggerated. And Fall probably deserves more fireworks than Summer. But it’s only going to be staying until most of the shows have premiered for the Summer season.

But anyways, the background is the color it is because it’s supposed to go with the banner. I think it’s a nice contrast to the previous theme colors, and it’s a bit easier on the eyes. Overall, I’m somewhat satisfied, except I don’t like the background tone. :( Maybe because the background is just solid and looks a little more odd when it fills the back plain. But I’m glad I was able to make the text readable instead of changing it to a different color from the background to make it readable (like last time). And I’m pretty satisfied with the banner.

But anyways, hope you enjoy the new theme~

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rin permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:55 am

    I like the new look. Especially the new banner. I’ve never watched Nanatsuiro Drops, but Sumomo is just too cute. Happy early 4th of July by the way.

  2. June 30, 2009 8:05 pm

    Sumomo! She’s so cute!

    What an awesome theme idea! :’D

  3. July 1, 2009 2:28 am

    D`awwwwww it’s Sumomo! Honestly, I haven’t watched the show yet but Sumomo is so cute, still~

    All in all, it’s just so cute~ Good job! ^w^

  4. July 1, 2009 7:35 pm

    Uwah~! The cooler blue is definitely much easier in the eyes! ^_^.

    Sumomo with fireworks sure did hit the spot! And I think it’s wonderful idea to search for fireworks at this time of the year.

  5. blossomgirl101 permalink*
    July 5, 2009 6:02 pm

    Rin: Thanks!~ She’s cute to anyone. ^_^ Happy…now late…4th of July!

    Lea: She is! Thank you ^^.

    kirapika:That’s what I love about her, she’s just so cute, anyone has to agree! xD

    Thank you!

    7: I’m glad it’s better on the eyes, definitely what I was aiming for. :]

    Thanks, glad you like it!

Leave a comment