Skip to content

Anime Expo 2009: Day 2

July 5, 2009
HikageChibi1

No convention pictures, so chibi Hikage reading and happily walking seems to fit the mood.

Which is/will be the only day I’ll go. Anyways, I went to my first anime convention and I have to say, it was pretty fun~ Except, I didn’t bring any friends so I felt a little lonely going with just my parents. Anyways, I had a fun, but I felt like an idiot walking around my first time…since I had no idea what to do. -_-

(Monthly Mania post will come next week, sorry for the delay >.<)

EDIT: Just found a picture of the Suu keychain on the internet, and added it~

But the convention was fun. I didn’t get to go to any panels I had planned to go to. I spent all my time in the Exhibition Hall xD. I was late going and so I missed the early ones I wanted to go to. I missed the Shugo Chara Party too, because I was late.

Besides going to the Exhibition Hall though, I got to go to the Morning Musume concert (which was free!~). It was my first concert too…so it was fun.

Okay, now to elaborate on my day~

Starting Off

Well, since it was my first convention, I had lots of chaos in the beginning. Hm…I was over 40 minutes off schedule just by waiting up. What’s worse was that after we had to run errands before the convention, suddenly we wanted to try out online registration. -_-;; And that…failed. After wasting 30 minutes, my parents decided not to do it. Over an hour off schedule. So because of that, I ended up missing the Shugo Chara gathering and the Photoshop Coloring 101. Anyways, starting off was rocky, and navigating my way was pretty tough. Luckily, I ran into a friend from school who helped me out. xD Then…we decided to get tickets for the main event…

Morning Musume Concert

Well, getting tickets, that was…long. But Morning Musume is pretty famous so I’m not surprised. I just got mad that I almost had to pay $20 because help wasn’t…”helpful”. But after waiting under the beating sun, we finally got in. Some people are so prepared though, setting up chairs in line. xD But overall, the concert was probably the best part of the day.

The concert was pretty fun for a first. The audience was pretty energetic in the front, even though the back…wasn’t as much. A couple people in the back were though, just…not the general crowd. They performed the full 3, 2. 1 Breaking Out! which I thought was a catchy song. Hm…my favorite part of the concert was during the break when one of the members shouted, “I had a cheesecake this morning…and it was…exciting!” I started to lol. It was nice to see them try to speak English though, nonetheless. I was actually surprised and happy when they mentioned concern about global warming later on in the concert.

Personal rant: I had terrible luck though at viewing the concert. I’ve mentioned before that I’m pretty short…at least I think I have. I guess everyone has this happen once before though. But I always had to have someone tall in front of me. -_- And then when the tall person left, I was glad that I could see again! Until…another tall person came. xD

They also announced the winners of the OPV Myspace Contest for 3, 2, 1 Breakin’ Out! Hangry from Hangry&Angry appeared at the concert as well as Tsunku♂ (that extra sign is bothersome >_>). There were three categories, even though I lol’ed at the factors in choosing the Morning Musume Prize (“Whichever made us look the cutest!”). I have to say, the OPVs were pretty amazing, and it’s no wonder why they won. Here’s a video with all of the winners:

The concert was pretty fun, despite going through some obstacles. At the end the audience was cheering for an encore xD but I left too see if anything happened.

Exhibit Hall/Stuff I Got

We decided to check out the Exhibit Hall after the concert. It was pretty big, so I spent the rest of my time at the convention looking around. Since the items are pretty expensive, I only bought two items. xD

I ended up buying a Suu keychain, with her face going: oAo…or something like that. She has an egg tag attached to the keychain as well…similar to FuyuMaiden’s Eru one (which I saw at the same booth). Anyways, I really love the keychain~ It’s so cute and makes me smile and laugh whenever I look at it. I wish I could’ve attached a picture, but I having problems transferring all of my pictures onto my laptop. xD Maybe in the future… Suu costs $8, which I thought was pretty expensive, but then again, most merchandise is pretty expensive. But I think this keychain is my first real anime merchandise (like figure, keychain, etc.). Wow, lots of firsts. Anyways, I don’t really want to attach her to anything since a lot of my keychains have broken off and I don’t want that to happen to Suu (especially since she was $8 compared to 25 cents keychains…jk, it’s not just the money). I don’t want to lose my first ever anime merchandise! D:< EDIT: Found a picture of the keychain on the internet!~

I also got a tote bag. Not much to say about it. It’s super cute though~ Ah I love it. It’s a yellow bag with a bear in the front. Cute~ $25 if I remember right. But it was all worth it. ^_^ Actually, I think both of these items were worth it in the long run. Can’t wait to put my stuff in this bag~

I ended up getting lots and lots of postcards, autograph of Brina Palencia from the Funimation booth, and a sticker. xD There were lots of great artwork there, and artists as well. There was a booth with posters and pictures, and omg! I saw an England x America picture! xD If I remember correctly, I don’t think it was yaoi. I think they were just together. I didn’t catch a good enough glimpse TT^TT. Crunchyroll had a booth, and so did Copic. I got so tempted to buy the markers. >.< I saw some examples with them before, and it was amazing how well they colored. Ah well.

Cosplays

Well, I didn’t cosplay, but I was on the look-out for cosplayers everywhere. We didn’t get lots of pictures, and I can’t transfer them anyways, so no pictures. :( Unfortunately my dad (who I decided would take the majority of the pictures, since he’s way better than me in photography) took pictures of cosplays I couldn’t recognize anyways. However, I finally got to see good cosplays in my life, and so now I think I have more respect for cosplay now and I’m more open-minded about it. So I’ve got to thank Anime Expo for that. But let’s see, the first cosplay I saw when I arrived was a Hatsune Miku cosplay, which wasn’t that bad (hair and outfit was down). Surprisingly, I saw a Mio cosplay there too (but I only got to see the back). There were some great Spirited Away cosplays as well. I was a little surprised to see some Avatar: The Last Airbender cosplays. Lots of Naruto and Pokemon cosplays, as expected. Unfortunately, I only got to see one Shugo Chara cosplay, of Nadeshiko (*coughtrapcough*). I saw a cute Sakura from CCS cosplay. It was pretty close outfit-wise, with a staff and everything. There were Chobits cosplays as well (yay for CLAMP love~). Um, however, I did see some guys cosplays as girls. Um…yeah. >_> Now on another note…my favorite cosplay. Well, it was a Final Fantasy cosplay X). My favorite cosplay was a of Yuna from FFX-2. The hair color, eye color, outfit, it was pretty close. Overall, I now have more respect for cosplays, since I saw some great ones that obviously took time and effort.

Anyways, the convention was a fun experience despite not experiencing as much as I wanted. It was my first time, so navigating everywhere was harder. I still had fun at the places I went nonetheless. I hope to attend next year, hopefully with friends though. ^^ It was a new experience, and was pretty refreshing to me. I had other things to say, but I totally forgot xD, so that’s it for now. ^_^

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Kiseki permalink
    July 5, 2009 7:00 pm

    Oh~ Your first convention, it’s nice that you had fun. :3

  2. July 6, 2009 4:06 am

    It’s too bad that you had to go through all that trouble just to be in the convention for a day. And awwww…no pictures? T_T

    Don’t worry…conventions are meant to be chaotic at one point of time anyway. I just my first convention not that long ago. So I guess whatever came your way was normal. But it seems to be you managed pretty well despite everything.

    And ugh…forget about concerts, let alone the long wait that comes with it. I can’t stand waiting, nor can I stand being surrounded with people like a pack of sardines. Heck, I don’t even know Morning Musume T_T.

    And good lord! You bought a Su key chain?! AWESOME! Now I’m dying to know what kind of expression ‘oAo’ is.

    As far as cosplay’s concerned, it seems like a good bunch of people like to cosplay Final Fantasy as well as Chobits. And I’m actually not surprised that you saw only one from SC since the same exact thing happened when I went to a convention.

    Glad you had fun.

  3. July 6, 2009 8:16 pm

    I’m glad you have fun even though you couldn’t make it to some of the panels or that SC! party you wanted to go to but now you’ll be prepared for next time, ne? ^^

    Oh, Morning Musume~
    Lucky lucky! Wish I could’ve seen this concert! Even though I don’t follow them, they sang a lot of memorable songs. Well, for me, anyways.

    My god…those OPVs… *speechless* O.O *can see why they won* xD

    Ah, you got the latest Suu mascot keychain (from the third set)! Cool! And her expression is just too adorable! Kyaaa! Suuuuuuuuuuu!!!!1 XDDDDD
    And I think those $8 you spent on her will be worth it in the end. You know the first set of SC! keychains that came out quite a while ago are out of print and for a whole set, someone’s selling it for $80 on Ebay. $80 for 7 keychains. o.O; So yea, take good care of your little Suu-chan, ne? haha xD

    I wanna see this tote bag~! Cuz I love yellow and cute bears. ;3;

    I would’ve so liked to see the Nadeshiko and Sakura cosplayer. The last time I went, everyone was either Light from Death Note or some Final Fantasy/Kingdom Hearts character. Not that I don’t like FF or KH (god, I use to love them so much) but it was just hard to find any good variety.
    Seriously? Guys cosplayed as girls?! *gasp* 8DDD Now that’s something I wanna see. xD;

    Yep. ^^

  4. July 6, 2009 9:07 pm

    Anime Expo… in Southern California? :DDDDDDDD

    I was going to go. And the my stupid ffffffffff dad had to take us all out on vacation to the stupid mountains I could care less about. D.<//

    Sounds like lots of fun. Ohhh~ Seeing Morning Musume would have been awesome. :'D
    You're so luckyyyy~~~~ TT^TT

  5. July 8, 2009 1:36 pm

    Kiseki: Haha, yup, it’s my first. Thanks~

    7: Yeah, but now I know for the future and things will be less chaotic. xD Unfortunately, I couldn’t transfer the pictures to my computer, sorry. TT^TT

    I thought it was worth it xD. We actually weren’t packed too tightly (I mean, people had enough room to sit down and set up chairs and stuff xD).

    It’s more like “oAo” but the “A” is upside down so it’s sort of smiling. O_o Kind of hard to explain, but I got the picture up. ^_^

    Yeah, but they actually weren’t bad cosplays. :D I was just surprised I only saw one since all of the other days there were tons of SC! cosplays.

    Xiao Jie: Yup, that’s the benefit of it I guess, being prepared and ready the next time it comes around.

    I don’t follow them as much as other groups, but I still love their songs.

    I didn’t know there were “sets”, lol. No wonder she had different expressions when I tried to find the internet picture. She definitely is adorable! X) O.O $80?! I definitely will hold on of the Suu keychain and take care of it! *keeps it in the plastic bag it was packaged in*

    If I’m able to transfer the images, I’ll be sure to post it up in Blossom Blabber or something. ;]

    Those were nice cosplays, and the Sakura cosplayer looked around Sakura’s age which made it even better. Now I feel bad I didn’t have enough courage to ask for a picture Dx. I remember seeing those cosplayers too. But since it’s a pretty big convention (44,000 people) there’s a bigger variety. There’s actually videos I think on ANN that have clips of guys cosplaying as girls.

    Lea: Yup, the Anime Expo in SoCal! :D

    Aww…that sucks. But there’s always next year. The Anime Expo always has been in Southern California ever since I first heard about it (3 years? maybe mroe…).

  6. Daemus permalink
    July 9, 2009 11:53 pm

    I made it on the first day and the closing day. I agree with you on Yuna of the Final Fantasy series. It’s not hard to get love-stricken right when when you see her. She was just .. I don’t know.. I kept feeling my nose to check whether I was bleeding or something. Of course, she could have gotten guns better replicated than what she had (I mean, c’mon, a pair of silver Berrettas with yellow-green tie straps on the handle?), but I’m just saying this to affirm that I do check for details not just stand there gawking, swept away by her sheer beauty. * sigh *

    Anyhow, it’s making me curious: is it just me or is it really that some cosplay-ers were paid to ‘represent’ characters. Some just did not look like they know much about the characters they are cosplaying for, as I did ask indirectly. A few did seem like they were on drugs, or horribly drunk the night before. It just hurts me to see someone having to do that not for the love of the anime show.

    Great experience in general. I have had good laughs and had gained giggly new friends. Except for one. Ulquiorra of Bleach is not really much of a happy dude.

  7. Rin permalink
    July 10, 2009 3:02 pm

    I’ve never been to an anime convention before. Too expensive. It sounds like fun. Shame there was only one Shugo Chara cosplay though. Oh yes, by the way, picture of Hikage, CU~TE!

  8. March 15, 2010 11:23 am

    information is that I want to make one for my background on my email and my face-book. so yeah, please send me some information about that, thank you….

  9. May 17, 2013 12:13 pm

    I like the helpful info you provide in your
    articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  10. May 19, 2013 5:22 pm

    Asking questions are truly good thing if you are not understanding anything completely, but this post presents pleasant
    understanding yet.

  11. June 18, 2013 2:58 pm

    Amazing! Its really amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear idea on the topic of
    from this article.

Leave a Reply

