Skip to content

Summer Anime 2009

June 17, 2009

SummerGirl

Ah, my summer anime post is sooo late. I’m glad I got to finish up the post, since it’s taken forever. Now I can put a button up soon! >=D But anyways, it seems like the summer season is more satisfying. Spring went by so fast because of the end of the school year and tests. There are a lot of shows to look forward to, or at least check out. There are quite a few to me that actually look interesting. ^_^ This time we’ll get more shoujo-ish shows than Spring. I liked Spring for the shounen, but I wasn’t satisfied at all with the shoujo. Mainly because the only one I could remember was Gokujou Mecha Motte Inchou. -_- Terrible, terrible memories. Anyways, moving onto the summer anime, because spring is out, and summer is in! xD

SummerAnime09

Click on the image for the full size

I’ll probably be blogging quite a few first impressions, or just put it all together like I did before. I’m hopefully going to be doing more episodic blogging, probably more with shows that have 13 episodes so they end just a bit after school starts again. xD But first, before looking at the summer, I’ll be looking at how the season went.


Spring 2009: Final Impressions

I can’t say it was a failure, because it just wasn’t with me. I had my dose of shounen though. ^_^ It was a slow season, in terms of how much I actually managed to watch, but a fast paced season, in terms of how fast it actually went. I started off with a lot of shows, but I only ended up sticking with…2 shows (from Spring season)? So a total of…4 shows…-_- But I was so busy that I could barely watch most of them. In the beginning I started off actually watching and enjoyed Valkyria Chronicles, Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~, Eden of the East, Pandora Hearts, and 07 Ghost. But for some reason I couldn’t really watch all of them and it just dropped to Eden of the East and 07 Ghost. :( I feel bad that I didn’t get watch a to watch a lot, but it’s been a busy season, as I’ve said before.

I think Gokujou Mecha Motte Inchou (I don’t care if I mistitled it) was the biggest disappointment for everyone…It was definitely for me. Lol, and it seems no one is subbing it anymore. I was looking forward to seeing the hamster and everything (is that all I care about?! The hamster?!). :( The voice acting wasn’t that great either along with the terrible 3-D animation. But her seiyuu is 15 so it’s somewhat understandable. But I watched a random episode to see how it developed, and I was still thinking, “Fail!” I mean….she was teaching the audience how to apply lipgloss. -_- And the hamster had an annoying voice.

K-On! was a show I watched every now and then when I felt like relaxing on some light anime that I wouldn’t have to worry about starting anywhere! I just watched random episodes. It seems like the Mio fancraze is still going around, but then got passed to Azusa. She’s really cute though. >.< Mio ended up being different than what everyone thought she’d be. But somehow I still liked her anyways. Just now…for different reasons.

I ended up following Eden of the East, and I loved it. It turned out being so much better than I thought. I loved the mystery of everything, and it was just so cool. Akira is just so awesome. Ohsugi is annoying. Saki isn’t a bad heroine. Pretty much every element of the series is win. I liked how much suspense there is to it. Now I’m going to go check out episode 10. But Eden of th East ended up being a series that I didn’t expect to follow, but did anyways.

07 Ghost was the other anime next to Pandora Hearts that I looked forward to the most. I began squeeling just waiting for it. And I enjoyed this series. I feel bad I didn’t get to follow Pandora Hearts, but I will later. 07-Ghost ended up making me squeal, laugh, and cry like an idiot fangirl. I ended up enjoying this series, but I’ve gotta watch the latest episodes. x.x There were fillers, but I didn’t get too upset since the plot episodes came soon after. I did get upset that it was in the beginning of the series though.

I wanted to watch more of the other 3 shows. Valkyria Chronicles I heard kinda went downhill after the first episode, but I’m not sure…then it got better? Phantom I heard was actually really good for Bee Train, and I heard Pandora Hearts improved. So I’m hoping to catch up to the series over the summer, as well as Tears to Tiara, which I haven’t even checked the first episode.

Asura Cryin’ just didn’t appeal to me. Hanasakeru Seishounen…I didn’t end up watching. I just…couldn’t. And Shangri-La, I haven’t bothered to continue it.

Overall, even though I only got to end up following 2 Spring series (plus Hetalia and SC!) I liked the series a lot and was satisfied. I do wish I did follow more anime, but you gotta do what you gotta do first. ^_^


Summer Anime 2009

So here are the animes that caught my interest this season. There are a couple that seem interesting that might not be on this list though. Summaries were taken from either MyAnimeList.net or the chart from above. I’m also hoping to restart Random Anime. Just to let everyone know, anything could be in Random Anime. ^^ But there is also a higher chance of shorter series to have episodic blogging. I’m so bad~

Tokyo Magnitude 8.0

TM8.0

Airdate: 7/9/09

Episodes: Unknown

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

An apocalyptic look at what would happen if an earthquake of a magnitude 7.0 or greater were to hit Tokyo.

Mirai, a middle school freshman girl who goes to Tokyo’s artificial Odaiba Island for a robot exhibition with her brother Yutaka at the start of summer vacation. A powerful tremor emanates from an ocean trench, the famed Tokyo Tower and Rainbow Bridge crumble and fall, and the landscape of Tokyo changes in an instant. With the help of a motorcycle delivery woman named Mari who they meet on Odaiba, Mirai and Yutaka strive to head back to their Setagaya home in western Tokyo.

Well, to be honest, I’m not really sure about this show. But the theory is pretty unique, so I thought I’d give it a try. It seems like it would have an interesting element to it. And, being in an area where there are many earthquakes, I’d like to see how the story goes. I’d be a bit frightened, but it’s an anime. But anyways, it looks like a unique series, so I’ll probably just check out the first episode just to see how it goes.

Watching: Just to see how it’s like, probably first episode.

Blogging: No.

CANAAN

CANAAN

Airdate: 7/4/09

Episodes: 13

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

A present day story of about a detective, a young man, a virus researcher, a freelance writer, and a cat mascot character who are brought together by bizarre events with worldwide implications in the Tokyo neighborhood of Shibuya.

I seriously know very little of this show, but it just seems…interesting. xD The summary is pretty vague, so I don’t know much about the series. But from what I’ve seen it doesn’t look too bad…so I’ll be checking it out. It might turn out good enough for me to follow, or possibly blog.

Watching: Yes, again, to see how it is. If it fails to impress me, I’ll be dropping it quickly.

Blogging: Probably not…

Bakemonogatari

Bakemonogatari

Airdate: 7/3/09

Episodes: 12

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

Koyomi Araragi is almost human again after briefly becoming a vampire. When Hitagi falls down the stairs into his arms, he discovers she weighs almost nothing, and offers her help from a middle-aged homeless man. Koyomi encounters many different ‘apparitions’ in a series of interconnected stories.

So it seems like there are many stories going in at once and they are somehow tied together, at least that’s what it sounds like it to me. Anyways, I looked at the trailer, and it only has like a 5 second clip to the actual show. xD The rest is a bunch of writing.  So I don’t know much about this show, but seeing as how the girl has school supplies falling out of her skirt…it looks interesting. It makes me curious what it has to offer and makes me want to know what the heck is going on with her skirt. But it just looks so intriguing that it’s impossible not to notice it.

Edit: I saw the second trailer, and it looks even better. She actually does use a staple as a weapon…putting someone’s mouth between that staple opening. :O

Watching: Yes. But not a weekly following (as in, I’ll be doing mini-marathons of it every now and then).

Blogging: It’s a possibility. ^^

Umineko no Naku Koro ni

UnNKn

Airdate: 7/1/09

Episodes: Unknown

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

Umineko no Naku Koro ni takes place in 1986 during the time frame of October the 4th and the 5th on a secluded island named Rokkenjima (六軒島). The head of the wealthy Ushiromiya family, Kinzō Ushiromiya, who lives on and owns Rokkenjima, is near death, and eleven of his family members arrive on the island to discuss how Kinzō’s assets will be divided once he is dead. Also on the island are five of Kinzō’s servants, and his personal physician. After the eleven family members arrive, a typhoon traps them on the island and shortly after people start to get mysteriously murdered.

Omg, it looks so awesome. And hearing about everyone getting excited for it makes me look forward to it. I just hope it doesn’t disappoint us. Although, unlike most people who are excited for it, this series is totally new to me. I haven’t read the manga or anything yet. It just looked interesting to me, and I’m just looking forward to it. ^^ The genre is a little different from what I usually watch, but it’s alright with me. I love the character designs already and it just looks awesome. It’s one of the series that I’ll be looking forward the most to this Summer.

Watching: Definitely!

Blogging: If I have something to say and can understand this show.

Hetalia Axis Powers 2

APH2

Airdate: 7/??/09

Episodes: 26

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

Continuation of the first season…

Italy, once home to the strongest empire in the world, has changed. This is the story of Italy, now a cowardly, pasta loving fool, and his friends (other personified countries) as they live through strange moments in world history.

I’m so glad that Hetalia is getting a second season! xD It’s a nice show to entertain me when I have little time to be entertained. I’ve been doing this awkward watch in a mini marathon, ignore, then watch in a mini marathon thing, but that makes me like it so much more somehow. Anyways, I’ll be looking forward to the second season, since I’ve enjoyed the first season so far. I will be looking forward to more antics of all the characters, and see new ones. But the one thing I’m hoping for is more screentime for other countries. So yes, looking forward for the next season, no doubt~

Watching: Of course.

Blogging: I suppose I could, it’s 5 minutes afterall.

Umi Monogatari ~ Anata ga Itekureta Koto

UMAGIK

Airdate: 6/24/09

Episodes: 12

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

Marin and her sister Urin live in the sea. One day they find a ring fallen into the sea. They get out of the sea and meet a girl Kanon, the owner of the ring. Kanon tells them she doesn’t want the ring anymore because it was given by her boyfriend whom she just broke up with, and she throws it into the sea again. Marin thinks Kanon is still in love with him and looks for the ring. But she accidentally breaks a seal on the sea floor…

The long titled show of the season. If I do happen to blog this, I’m taking out anything past the “~” sign. Anyways, it seems like the typical mahou shoujo for the season. Transforming girls, possibly love, etc. And I think that’s why I’m going to watch it. Just because it’s a mahou shoujo. So far it doesn’t look half bad. And there are no signs of CG, so we’re good. I just wish they’d get better clothes. Dx I almost misinterpreted it. But anyways, it looks interesting enough for me to try out.

Watching: Sure…let’s see how it goes.

Blogging: There is a chance. If not, it could be a regular in Random Anime.

Sora no Manimani

SnM

Airdate: 7/7/09

Episodes: Unknown

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

Saku Ooyagi returns to his hometown after seven years and is soon reacquainted with his childhood friend, Mihoshi Akeno. The reunion is far from merry since the last memory they have of each other is of her falling off a tree and him saving her. In any case, Mihoshi is determined to improved their relationship and forces Saku to join the astronomy club she founded.

Sora no Manimani!! Kanae Ito!! Omg, omg, omg!! I didn’t put Taishou Yakyuu Musume on this list, so I’ll be putting all my fangirling with Kanae Ito doing another role in this section. Kya~ *fangirls more* Anyways, aside from it being Kanae Ito, it looks like that romance comedy I’ll be hoping for. It seems like it will satisfy me with healthy doses of romantic comedy. ^_^ And I’m okay with slice-of-life, so yes!~ It looks really promising already, so I’m really excited. It is the anime that I’ll be looking forward to the most this season. All of it looks so…to my tastes. (Plus, I don’t get tired watching the trailer)

Watching: Yes, definitely!

Blogging: If I’m allowed to…I’d like to. ^_^

NEEDLESS

NEEDLESS

Airdate: 7/2/09

Episodes: Unknown

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

Year 2130,
after the third world war, large contaminated areas known as “Blackspots” formed all over Japan. Large Walls were used to quarantine off these “Blackspots”. In time, signs of inhabitance appeared within these wastelands. Among the survivors who had been abandoned inside the Blackspots, labeled as “those who were unneeded”, came forth possessors of uncanny abilities — Fire, wind, brute strength…they were defined by their supernatural abilities. Others, fearful of their powers, expelled them and named them Needless.

The summary seems interesting to me, although I’m not really sure if I’ll end up following the whole series. It sounds pretty interesting though, I guess the usual sci-fi-ish stuff. I’ll check out the first episode, see how it goes, and we’ll see if I follow it. It looks like it has some potential…but it just sounds so interesting I can’t resist. But the animation looks so….kiddish. -_-|||

Watching: Checking it out.

Blogging: Most likely not.

Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou

YWGM

Airdate: 7/11/09

Episodes: Unknown

Website: [ Official Website | MAL ]

The story revolves around Koyomi Morishita, a clumsy high school freshman girl who is often mistaken for a grade-schooler because of her shortness. Koyomi becomes a disciple of Misa Anehara, a 25-year-old graduate student who happens to be one of the most powerful modern-day magicians.

Yay, more magic! I always loved the magic genre, as long as it didn’t seem tacky or corny. But this looks like a show I would watch. The trailer looked pretty interesting, and I have the same issue as the main character, so that caught my attention a bit too. It looks like a cool show I could follow. The animation also looks really good and everything, and the producers don’t look like they would kill the series. It’s Nomad, the same producers that took part in OHSHC, Honey and Clover, and Rozen Maiden. But anyways, it looks like an appealing show that I’m willing to check out.

Watching: Yup.

Blogging: We’ll see. But there is a chance.

Umi Monogatari ~ Anata ga Itekureta KotoA

I’ll probably be doing first impression posts on everything I check out. As I’ve mentioned before, there were some that I’m interested in that I didn’t put up like Taishou Yakyuu Musume or Kanamemo. There are going to be some series I’ll drop, some I’ll pick up, etc. So far anything can happen as far as blogging plans for shows.

But that’s it for now, now off to make a button for the sidebar (which I will have all the anime I’m looking forward to)! :D

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 11:26 am

    It’s not that late. It’s only late if it’s after the anime air because…well then it’s longer a preview. Obviously.

    Spring had Hanasakeru Seishounen which was barely better than Mecha Motte Iinchou.

    And Spring being a “slow but fast-paced season” was exactly the same for me. When I thought about it there were quite a few decent shows in Spring, but nothing really grabbed me so I didn’t watch much.

    The staplers are relevant in Bakemonogatari!? Must watch the second PV…

    AND YES! Any Sora no Manimani excitement makes me a very happy girl. Judging from the PV Kanae-san is going to be so awesome in it~

    And…that’s it? That’s all I have to say. The more I go through preview posts, the less I have to say. Logical, but it still bothers me!

  2. Rin permalink
    June 18, 2009 2:59 pm

    I’ve never been a real anime person. I’m more of a manga person myself. Maybe I’ll try out one or two of the animes there though. You can never have too much anime on your anime list. Bakemonogatari and Umi Monogatari~ Anata ga Itekureta Koto(I wonder what ‘monogatari’ means) sound interesting.

  3. June 18, 2009 8:47 pm

    Well, you certainly gave a lot Spring anime more chances than I did. ^^;
    But yes~, catch up on PH. It’s still below average but it’s alright to watch for…well, you decide. I still don’t know what I like about it. Maybe cuz I’m just a huge fan of the manga? …Yea, probably. Lol

    Hmm, looks like you and I have a pretty similar lineup. I’m confident I’ll drop a few, though, cuz that just always happens but I’m sure the first episode for each should prove good enough to want to watch the second…if what I just said made any sense at all. xD;

    Omg, yes! I thought I was the only one who was going for Umineko with no substance behind it except for an “I like it!”. haha I would usually avoid this type of show, too (don’t do well with horror or murder-mysteries or whatever genre of the like), but it just holds too much promise to ignore. Kaaahh, can’t wait. ^^

    OMGYES!!! KANAE-SANNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

    …lol There goes my shallow fangirl (but it’s alright cuz my love for Kanae-san is pure and strong~ Wut? xD;). I hope SoraMani can really live up to her performance. It sounds a bit unfair to say that when it hasn’t even aired yet but often times, a seiyuu is really what keeps me going for a series I’m on the edge of dropping. Not that I’m saying that’s what I think SoraMani is going to be like but just being cautious. o3o

    But wah~, you’re going to have a lot to do then. I’ll be looking forward to your first impressions! ^^

  4. blossomgirl101 permalink*
    June 19, 2009 10:07 pm

    FuyuMaiden: That’s true, thanks~

    Ah yes, I totally erased that out of my head. I totally forgot about that anime.

    Same here, only those two I did watch were closest to grabbing my attention.

    Yes! Do watch! It’s awesome, totally makes me want to watch it now.

    It totally deserves the love!~ Isn’t Kanae-san always awesome~? So…can I blog SnM?

    Rin: That’s totally understandable. Everyone has their own preferences. I happen to be an anime person, but recently I’ve gotten into more mangas. Oh, monogatari means “story” or “tale” if I’m not mistakened. But yes, they look interesting. ^^

    Xiao Jie:Haha, well I’ve been planning on catching up, since I heard it improved slightly. After watching some other anime, I’m sure it can’t be worse than those.

    Ooh, that’s cool. But I’m also certain to drop a few (I was already planning to drop some titles after researching them a bit more). Yeah, that made sense to me, and I agree with it too. ^_^

    So did I! I thought I was alone! Same here, I’m not a fan of horror, but it just grabbed me that I found myself excited for it. It looks too good~

    xD It’s alright to shallow fangirl, cause it’s KANAE-SAN! I hope so too, but it seems like it will. Same here, I find myself watching just so I can hear their voice. >.<

  5. June 24, 2009 8:52 pm

    Hmmm.. my Summer Anime is pretty much like yours except I have 2 more that you’re probably not watching. lolz xD

    Oh yeah~ Umineko is a definite watch for me too ^–^ I don’t know how much I am excited for next week, July 1. :D I’m seriously marathoning this show! *evil laugh*

    Yup, frankly saying, Summer `09 is not awesome and I just can’t wait for Fall `09 but this being a ‘girls-rulez’ aura in it, it’s still interesting to watch ^^;;

  6. moeronpan permalink
    July 8, 2009 5:25 pm

    Hi, I just want to say I really like your blog, and I was wondering if we can exchange links cos I’d like Blossom Media on my blog-roll if that’s okay with you.
    …I’m sorry I didnt know where to put this request >_< My blog is Moeronpan on wordpress. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

