Skip to content

Monthly Mania: May 2009

May 8, 2009

aniem spring Pictures, Images and Photos

So here is the first issue of Monthly Mania! I forgot to mention in my intro post that if there is a Monthly Mania post, then I won’t do the Blossom Blabber. I might if I have time on my hands, but otherwise, no. The first issue will include a movie, drama series, video game, and anime. Um, and for the ratings, I’m really soft on them. So anyways, here is the first issue, hope you enjoy!

Movie

LovelyComplexLA

Lovely Complex

Cast:

Ema Fujisawa as Risa
Teppei Koike as Ohtani
Yusuke Yamazaki as Nakao
Nami Tamaki as Nobuko
Hiro Mizushima as Suzuki
Risa Kudo as Chiharu

Summary:

Risa and Otani are always being laughed at as the comedy duo. Risa, a girl, is taller than the average girl, and Otani, a boy, is shorter than the average boy. The two are always bickering and even their teacher sees them as a comedy act. But as their friendship develops, so do Risa’s feelings toward Otani.

Source: The anime summary from MyAnimeList.net

Thoughts:

Ah, Lovely Complex, I decided to stick with a Japanese movie first. I was first interested in this when I borrowed the manga from the library, and decided to research it. After seeing a picture of Ohtani as an actual person, I found out there was a live action and that sparked my interest. Yeah, boring. Another reason is because of Hiro Mizushima, since I love almost all of the dramas he stars in.

Lovely Complex is based after the manga, with the same name (also known as Love-Com). It is a really cute movie, and is also pretty loyal to the manga. But, like most movies, it cut off some scenes and the other main characters didn’t play as big of a role as they do in the manga/anime. Sometimes it seemed a little corny, but other times it was…realistic? Also, the narrator bugged me with it’s attempt at English (Japanese could’ve been fine). I had to shove my headphones against my ears to try to decipher what he said. But, besides that, I laughed a lot, and enjoyed it.  The characters are really enjoyable to begin with, with the exception of the fangirls (and Risa when she was one), the sister, the narrator, and the student teacher (I couldn’t tell if he and the narrator are the same people). The student teacher though wasn’t that bad at the end though. The movie overall is a cute romance story with your typical shoujo-ness and small drama.

Verdict: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10

Where to watch it: mysoju [Link to watch it]

Drama Series

PrincessHours

From left to right: Lee Shin, Min Hyo-rin, Shin Chae-kyeong, and Lee Yool

Princess Hours aka Goong

Cast:

Yoon Eun Hye as Shin Chae-kyeong
Joo Ji Hoon as Lee Shin
Kim Jeong Hoon as Lee Yool
Song Ji-hyo as Min Hyo-rin

Summary:

Based on the manhwa by Park So-Hee. This story takes place in an alternate reality if Korea still had a royal family in the 21st century, and is modelled after the last royal family of Korea. After being rejected to be a bride by Min Hyo-rin, Lee Shin is forced against his will to marry a commoner, Shin Chae-kyeong. Even though her personality is able to break through to Lee Shin, scandals, the return of Min Hyo-rin, and the introduction of Lee Shin’s cousin Lee Yool complicates matters for the couple.

Thoughts:

Princess Hours, or Goong (the shorter, easier to type title I’ll be using), is a romance comedy story filled with tons of drama. In the beginning, it was full of fluff with twists, turns, and yet it was enjoyable to see their love develop. The first half of it was great. However, it’s to be warned that later, it starts getting much more dramatic, and it drags on, in a bad way.

For the characters, there is a lot of character development. To me, the most dramatic change came from Min Hyo-rin. The main girl, was very fun to watch at certain times, and other times, she’s pretty annoying. She is your average shoujo-like heroine. Her personality is able to affect everyone around her. The prince is a pretty sane person most of the time, and is probably my favorite character. He’s just really cool, but like everyone else, has his bad moments (less though). The cousin is actually a pretty nice character, but in the near end he began to bug me too.

The drama is actually a pretty good, enjoyable, and addicting drama. I mean, I really liked it, I finished 24 episodes in a week or less (which for me is quick considering the length of the drama episodes). But there is some extreme drama in there, and I wanted it to end at a certain spot, since it would be a perfect ending…until it keeps going. So it’s a good drama, but the ending is a little disappointing. If you love romance, comedy, and extra drama, this is the…drama series for you. -_-||| xD

Verdict: 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10
It would have had a better score if it stopped when I wanted it.

Where to watch it: Youtube [Link to watch]

Video Game

Hello Kitty Online

Summary:

Hello Kitty and friends welcome you to the exciting and fantastic Hello Kitty World! This is the first-ever online game platform featuring the all-time-favorite Hello Kitty characters from Sanrio!
Hello Kitty World will allow thousands of players to live and participate in Hello Kitty’s magical and cute online world. Youwill be able to roam the streets of New York City, Florapolis, London, Paris, and much more. Enjoy the beautiful landscape and architecture of Moscow or Tokyo and participate in numerous puzzles, story lines, or adventures lead by the worldwide community of Hello Kitty World subscribers. You can even have a successful farm, open different shops, earn and spend Sanrio Dollars in your bank, buy a house, and trade with other players around the vast game world.

Source: mmosite.com with a couple tweaks

Thoughts

So right now, the majority is probably going, “Wtf?” But honestly, don’t let the looks of it fool you. The game is still in development, but I felt it should be in the spotlight. This game is…kiddish I will admit, but it’s pretty fun for a kids game. I was in the betas of the game, and it’s really enjoyable. To be honest, I was somewhat addicted to it. -‘_’- There are tons to do, and it’s a good starter game for people going into RPGs. It has all of the elements of an RPG, but in a simpler form. The graphics are pretty good, and there are always quests to keep you going. There are people from all age groups, and the guilds are really nice. So far, the players have created one of the best communities I’ve seen. My old blog revolved around this game (since the blog and the game were hosted by SanrioTown). I mentioned before that there are guilds, and for me it starts getting fun when you actually join one. I’ve enjoyed and loved this game for all it’s cuteness and fluff, and it’s great for relaxing and starting off your first RPG.

Verdict: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8.5] 9 10
Yeah…I’m going to cheat and put a .5 there! xD

Website: http://hellokittyonline.com

Anime

PPY

Puchi Puri Yuushi

Summary:

Yucie, really a 17-year old stuck in a 10-year old’s body (she has a curse on her), would do anything to become her age. When she hears of an oppurtunity to become a chosen Platina Princess, and then have the power to use a tiara that grants a special wish to the Platina Princess once every 1000 years, Yucie goes for it with clear determination.

Source: myanimelist.net

Thoughts:

Well, usually I wouldn’t be recommending new anime, since I’m assuming that most of the people reading this are already anime fans, but this is a pretty underestimated anime that not many have known about. I found it during my marathon Summer last year, while I was looking for new anime to watch. I was really glad I found this by a small chance and happened to pass through it. Puchi Puri Yuushi (can I call it PPY? It’s a mouthful) is an anime that brings back that fairytale charm that remind you of your childhood shows and movies. It’s about Yucie, a girl who has a curse on her, and so she wants to get rid of it as soon as she can. She soon meets other girls who are going after a tiara for the same reason: to change their bodies back to their original age. It’s a really cute, fluffy show that just makes you smile. There is the prince, with cute tsundere romance that we all love as well. Each character is also unique, and each of them come from their own world, with their own past. It elaborates on each of their pasts, and makes the show’s characters the strongpoint. You have your average shoujo heroine, your cute/polite meganekko, your tsundere rival/friend, and your overly strict and pressured girl.

I enjoyed, like I mentioned before, the charm, the cuteness, and the fluffyness. It also has laugh out loud comedic moments. It’s an anime that I feel deserves a little spotlight. There are also morals in this story, and it just has every element a shoujo has with a fairytale twist.

Verdict: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10
Um…just took the ranking I put on my MAL. xD

Where to watch it: Veoh [Link to watch]

—–

Wow, that took longer than I thought. I blame formatting issues, lol. Anyways, I hope everyone enjoys the first issue. ^_^

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 8:53 pm

    lol. I actually saw Hello Kitty Online and immediately went, “I want to play~” Though I always try to stay away from Online Games (I have a rather addictive nature), that game just looks too cute. Wanna play~

    I really need to get around to reading Lovely Complex someday though. Then I’ll gladly watch the movie…but I’ve been trying to get around to the manga and anime so long that it may take a while to get to the movie. But…someday! Hopefully over the Summer.

    And OMG~ PPY~ I think I watched a few episodes of that a while ago. Reading your review of it makes me want to watch the rest. From what I remember it was so cute. Another thing to add to my watchlist for Summer.

  2. May 11, 2009 7:22 am

    Love-Com sounds really fun and cute. :D
    Gotta put it down on my list now that I’m out of school (YAY~). X3

    OMG! Korean drama! And involving royalty?! 8DDD
    Ack, but that much drama, eh? Argh, this was why I stopped watching Hong Kong dramas a while ago. Lol Hmm, dunno if I’ll try this one but thanks for the synopsis! ^^

    Aww, Hello Kitty~ It’s been a while since I heard something about it. <3
    haha, online games are really so addicting, especially if they’re cute kiddy games. Buu~ Wish I were a kid again so I can have more time to play them. =3=

    Ah, PPY…I dropped it really early on but it’s a good example of a “classic” mahou shoujo as I’d like to put it. There really wasn’t anything that stood out for me, though, because it followed the usual formula of the genre, characters were somewhat lacking…a spark (for me) but I’m always amused by Yucie’s incredibly shiny forehead. XDDD

    Well, yep, thanks for sharing! I can’t wait for your next blabber or monthly issue. ^^

  3. blossomgirl101 permalink*
    May 12, 2009 9:39 pm

    FuyuMaiden: Haha, I reacted like that too, since I love Hello Kitty. It’s a really cute game, but yeah, it’s addicting. I have that same addictive nature.

    Starting from the original is always best. Hope you enjoy it once you get to watch it~

    Thanks, yeah it is cute. Yucie is cute too with her big forehead. xD

    Xiao Jie: It’s a pretty cute series, yes. ^_^

    Maybe I’m exaggerating the drama a little. ^^;; I mean, dramas are meant to be…dramatic. But you should just give it a shot!

    Yes they are. I found HKO too addicting. >.< I wish I had more time to do play too.

    PPY is a good example of classic, now that I think about it. Yucie’s shiny forehead always made me lol. But honestly, I thought that the characters weren’t really that great either until later when some episodes were dedicated to them and when they are in their homeworld.

Leave a Reply

